Gdansk 2013

Gdansk 2013
Location Poland
Host Broadcaster TVP
Venue Baltic Opera
Date 14 Jun 2013
Host(s) Tomasz Kammel & BalletBoyz (Michael Nunn and William Trevitt)
Participants 10
Voting method Each juror scored the participants for their individual and group dance, and the top two qualified for the final duel.
Jury President Krzysztof Pastor
Executive Producer Robert Kamyk


# Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer Result
01 Armenia
Flag of ArmeniaAMPTV
Vahagn Margaryan Blind Alley Arsen Mehrabyan  
02 Belarus
Flag of BelarusBTRC
Yana Shtangey Esmeralda Variation Marius Petipa  
03 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNTR
Sedrig Verwoert The 5th Element Marco Gerris 01
04 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Stephanie Liekola Isla Entrapped Mauro Rojas  
05 Ukraine
Flag of UkraineNTU
Nikita Vasylenko The Legend of Spartacus Tetyana Denysova  
06 Czech Republic
Flag of Czech RepublicČT
Adéla Abdul Khalegová Love Under Pressure Adéla Abdul Khalegová  
07 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Kristóf Szabó My Life and Love Might Still Go on in Your Heart Katarzyna Kubalska  
08 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Julie Schartum Dokken Moment Julie Schartum Dokken  
09 Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Patricija Crnkovič Passion Dimitrij Popovski  
10 Germany
Flag of GermanyWDR
Felix Berning Home Felix Landerer & Felix Berning 02

About the show

The 13th edition of the Eurovision Young Dancers contest will take place in the Baltic Opera of Gdansk (Poland) on the 14th June 2013.

This year we welcome 2 new countries in the competition (Belarus and Armenia) and 2 returning countries (Ukraine and Germany).

In this competition, each country is represented by a male or female dancer aged between 16 and 20, that performs a solo dance and a group dance with the other dancers. The participants have been working on their solo performances in their countries, but for the group dance, they learned it during the week in Gdansk with the BalletBoyz.

After all 10 performances have been presented, the jury chooses 2 dancers for a final battle, where the winner is decided.

The jury consisted of:

  • Krzysztof Pastor (Poland) (Head of Jury)
  • Nadia Espiritu (Germany)
  • Cameron McMillan (United Kingdom)

Germany and The Netherlands were the chosen countries for the final battle. After the battle, Sedrig Verwoert from the Netherlands was announced as winner of the 2013 Eurovision Young Dancers competition by unanimous decision of the jury.