7th Eurovision Young Dancers 1997

Location Poland
Host Broadcaster TVP
Venue Teatr Musyczny
Date 17 Jun 1997
Host(s) Grazyna Torbicka & Henk van der Meulen
Participants 12
Voting method Jury Voting
Jury President Maya Plisietskaya
Executive Producer Malgorzata Jedynak-Pietkiewicz
Choreographer Piotr Nardelli
TV Director Dariusz Goczal

Programme book


# Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer Result
01 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Alain Honorez "The Sleeping Beauty" M. Petipa 02
02 Latvia
Flag of LatviaLTV
Viktorija Janson "Sleeping Beauty: Aurora's variation" M. Petipa  
03 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Tim Matiakis "Paquita" M. Petipa 03
04 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Salla Suominen "Romeo and Juliet: Juliet's variation" E. Sylvestersen  
05 Slovakia
Flag of SlovakiaSTV
Roman Lazik "La Sylphide" A. Bournonville  
06 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Magdalena Dziegielewska & Bartosz Anczykowski "Paquita - Grand pas de deux" F. Capouste  
07 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Antonio Carmena San José "Angelitos Locos" J.C. Santamaría 01
DNQ Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Ana Klasnja "Pas de deux" G. Balanchine  
DNQ Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Carolina Constantinou "La Bayadère" M. Petipa  
DNQ Hungary
Flag of HungaryMTV
Gabor Kapin "La Sylphide" A. Bournonville  
DNQ Estonia
Flag of EstoniaERR
Mari Savitski "Don Quixote: Quitry variations" M. Petipa  
DNQ Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Nefeli Markaki "Pas de deux" G.Balanchine  

About the show

The final of the seventh Eurovision Young Dancers Competition was held at theTeatr Musyczny of Gdynia, Poland on June 17, 1997.

Six days before the final, on June 11 at 20:30, like in the previous years, a semi final was held to choose the 7 countries that made it to the final (Spain, Belgium, Slovakia, Sweden, Finland, Latvia and Poland).

In this edition of the Eurovision Young Dancers contest, 13 countries took part: 2 new countries entered the competition (Slovakia and Latvia) and 4 withdrew (France, Norway, Austria and Switzerland). However, Norway and Switzerland broadcasted the event, together with Ireland (for the first time).

The participant countries could send one or two dancers, male or female, who performed one or two dances.

The jury cosisted of:

  • Maya Plisetskaya (Russia) (20 November 1925) as Head of the Jury
  • Paola Cantalupo (Italy)
  • Katarzyna Gdaniec (Poland)
  • Gigi Caciuelanu (Rennes) (13 May 1947)
  • Uwe Scholz (German) (31 December 1958 - 21 November 2004)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Switzerland) (8 July 1940)
  • Gösta Svalberg (Sweden) (1929)

The jury chose the finalists and top 3 performances.

The Funny Fact

"It's not all about dance"

May it be not only a chance to meet in the on-stage competitions, but also be an occasion to get to know the beauty of these Baltic cities [Gdynia and Gdansk], their traditions, rich history and perspectives for future development (a phrase from the 1997 EYD-booklet)

Good to Know!

Spain won the contest for the fitfh (and last until now) time.

Although the whole Contest took part in Gdynia, the venue was presented in the booklet as "Gdansk-Gdynia"