8th Eurovision Young Dancers 1999

Location France
Host Broadcaster France 3
Venue Opéra de Lyon
Date 10 Jul 1999
Host(s) Alex Taylor
Participants 16
Voting method Jury Voting
Jury President Boris Eifman
Executive Producer Gilbert Plique & Michele Banaletti
TV Director Guy Darmet
Interval Act Performance of the hip-hop dance group “Kä-fig”

Programme book


# Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer Result
01 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Maria Boubouli "Don Quixote" M. Petipa  
02 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNTR
Ernst Meisner "La fille mal gardée" J. Dauberval  
03 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Clara Blanco "Variation of Giselle" J. Coralli & J. Perrot 03
04 France
Flag of FranceFrance 3
Emmanuel Eggermont & Juliette Roudet "Les Chiens" J. Bouvier & R. Obadia  
05 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Marta Wojtaszewska & Marcin Krajewski "Stars & Stripes" G. Balanchine  
06 Latvia
Flag of LatviaLTV
Elza Leimane "Esmeralda" J. Perrot  
07 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Aarne Ruutu “La Sylphide” (James variation) A. Bournonville  
08 Germany
Flag of GermanyZDF
Stegli Yohan & Katja Wünsche "Cinderella" J. Neumeier 01
09 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Frederik Deberdt "La Sylphide" A. Bournonville  
10 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Nathalie Nordquist “Flower Festival in Genzano” A. Bournonville 02
DNQ Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Ana Klasnja "Variation of Giselle" J. Coralli & J. Perrot  
DNQ Hungary
Flag of HungaryMTV
Attila Bongar “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa  
DNQ Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Dafni Mouyiassi “The Sleeping Beauty” M. Petipa  
DNQ Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Laetitia Guggi “La Bayadère” M. Petipa  
DNQ United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Lara Glew “La Bayadère” M. Petipa  
DNQ Czech Republic
Flag of Czech RepublicČT
Lukas Slavicky & Zuzana Zahradnikova "Don Quixote" M. Petipa  

About the show

The final of the 8th Eurovision Young Dancers Competition was held at the Opéra de Lyon, France on July 10, 1997

Six days before the final, on July 4 a semi final was held to choose the 7 countries that made it to the final (Greece, Netherlands, France, Spain, Poland, Latvia, Finland, Germany, Belgium and Sweden).

In this edition of the Eurovision Young Dancers contest, 16 countries took part: there was a new country (Czech Republic) and 4 returning countries (Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the host country, France), while other 2 countries withdrew (Slovakia and Russia). The show was broadcasted in around 20 countries, including Ireland and Croatia.

Both single dancers and couples younger than 20 could enter the competition, male or female. Single dancers had to perform 2 pieces of maximum 10 minutes in total, while couples could choose to perform 1 or 2 dances, but in total no longer than 10 minutes as well.

The jury cosisted of:

  • Boris Eifman (Russia) (22 July 1946) as a Head of the Jury
  • Jean-Christophe Maillot (31 August 1960) (France)
  • Tero Saarinen (7 September 1964) (Finland)
  • Meryl Tankard (1955) (Australia)
  • Maguy Marin (2 June 1951) (France)
  • Vicente Sáez (Spain)
  • Victoria Maragopoulou (Greece)

The jury chose the finalists and top 3 performances.

Good to Know!

Agnès Letestu, who won the 1989 Eurovision Young Dancers contest representing France, was the commentator of the French television France 3 this year.

For the first time, a mascot was used for this show. In this case, it was a young woman dancing with stars around her head, created by the design studio "Desperado".