2nd Eurovision Young Dancers 1987

Location Germany
Host Broadcaster ZDF
Venue Schwetzingen Castle Theatre
Date 31 May 1987
Host(s) Margot Werner
Participants 14
Voting method Jury Voting
Jury President Richard Cragun
Executive Producer Harro Eisele
TV Director Hugo Käch
Interval Act Arne Fagerholt in Kjersti Alverberg's 'Spirits'

Programme book


Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer
Flag of AustriaORF
Erika Nowak Variation of the girl friends from "Raymonda" M. Petipa & R. Nureyev
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Frédéric Gafner Variation from the first act of “La Sylphide” A. Bournonville
Flag of ItalyRAI
Giulia Menicucci Variation from “Giselle” J. Coralli & J. J. Perrot
Flag of NorwayNRK
Halldis Olafsdottir "Paper Nut" J. Day
Flag of SwedenSVT
Johannes Öhman Franz's variation from the third act of “Coppelia” K. Damianov
Flag of FranceA2F
Marie-Soizic Cabié Aurora's variation from the first act of “Sleeping Beauty” M. Petipa
The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNTS
Marieke Simons & Bart de Block Blue Bird Pas de deux from “Sleeping Beauty” M. Petipa
Flag of SpainTVE
María Montserrat León Variation from “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa
United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Paul Liburd "Under Summer" R. Cohan
Flag of DenmarkDR
Rose Gad Poulsen & Nikolaj Hübbe Divertissement from “La Sylphide” A. Bournonville
Flag of GermanyZDF
Stefanie Arndt Variation from “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa
Flag of CanadaCBC
Stephen Legate Variation from “La Bayadère” M. Petipa & N. Makarova
Flag of FinlandYLE
Susanna Aaltonen & Tomi Paasonen Pas de deux Odette/Siegfried from the second act of “Swan Lake” L. Ivanov
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Vedrana Ostojic Variation from “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa

About the show

The second Eurovision Young Dancers Competition final was held at the Schlosstheater Schwetzingen, Germany on May 31, 1987.

The participant countries could send one or two dancers, male or female, that could not be older than 20 and had to be born or resident in the country that they were going to represent.

Each entry consisted in one or two dances with no rules or limitations regarding the style. The dances could not be longer than 5 minutes (for soloists) or 10 minutes (for couples).

The jury cosisted of:

  • Paolo Bortoluzzi (Genova) as Head of the Jury (17 May 1938 – 15 October 1993)
  • Frank Andersen (Copenhagen) (15 April 1953)
  • Óscar Araiz (Punta Alta) (2 December 1940)
  • Celia Franca (Ottawa) (25 June 1921 – 19 February 2007)
  • Mary Hinkson (New York) (16 March 1930)
  • Mette Honningen (Copenhagen) (1944)
  • Galina Samsova (London) (17 March 1937)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Basel) (8 July 1940)
  • José de Udaeta (Sitges) (27 May 1919 – 15 September 2009)

The Funny Fact

"The Wind of Changes"

...EBU - the association of all non-commercial radio and television broadcasters on this side of the iron curtain... (a phrase from the official EYD 1987 booklet)

Good to Know!

For the first time ever, the Canadian Broadcaster CBC (EBU Associate Member) joined the show with its participant.

In this Eurovision Young Dancers contest, the Netherlands and Belgium competed together.