4th Eurovision Young Dancers 1991

Location Finland
Host Broadcaster YLE
Venue Helsinki City Theatre
Date 5 Jun 1991
Host(s) Taina Elg & Heikki Värtsi
Participants 15
Voting method Jury voting
Jury President Jorma Uotinen
Executive Producer Aarno Cronvall
Choreographer Marianna Rumjantseva
TV Director Izan Lewenstam
Interval Act Documentary by Eila-Maija Mirolybov about the early stages of the competition and the dancers who did not reach the final.

Programme book


Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer
Flag of ItalyRAI
Alen Bottaini “Grand pas classique” V. Gsovsky
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Vanessa Eertmans “Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings in D minor” D. Sonnenbluck
Flag of SpainTVE
Amaya Iglesias Variations from “La Grisi” L. de Ávila
Flag of FinlandYLE
Titta-Tuulia Karhunen & Pasi Sinisalo “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa
Flag of DenmarkDR
Johan Kobborg “La Sylphide” A. Bournonville
The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Boris Johannes de Leeuw “Prelude to a Kiss” P. de Ruiter
Flag of PortugalRTP
Sonia Lima “Don Quixote” M. Petipa
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Sarah Locher “The Sleeping Beauty” M. Petipa
Flag of NorwayNRK
Ingrid Trøite Lorentzen “Don Quixote” M. Petipa
Flag of BulgariaBNT
Diliana Nikiforova “The Sleeping Beauty” M. Petipa
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Eleni O’Keefe “Glorianna, Hymne à la femme” N. Mouyiasi
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Ana Pavlovic “Coppelia” K. Damianov
Flag of SwedenSVT
Kim Savéus “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa
Flag of FranceFrance 3
Emmanuel Thibault “La Sylphide” F. Taglioni
Flag of GermanyZDF
Celia Volk “Le Corsaire” M. Petipa

About the show

The fourth Eurovision Young Dancers Competition final was held at the City Theater of Helsinki, Finland on June 5, 1991

One new country took part (Bulgaria) and three countries withdrew (Canada, Austria and the United Kingdom).

The participant countries could send one or two dancers, male or female, who performed one or two dances.

The jury consisted of:

  • Jorma Uotinen (Helsinki) as Head of the Jury (28 June 1950)
  • Frank Andersen (Copenhagen) (15 April 1953)
  • Josette Amiel (Paris) (19 November 1930)
  • Gigi Gheorghe Caciuleanu (Rennes) (13 May 1947)
  • Peter Van Dyk (Bonn)
  • André-Philippe Hersin (France) (1935 - 28 January 1998)
  • Gösta Svalberg (Sweden) (1929)
  • Heinz Spoerli (Basel) (8 July 1940)
  • Víctor Ullate (Madrid) (1947)

The jury chose the top 3 performances

The Funny Fact

"Time of changes"

For the first time we have a participant chosen by Intervision. Between organizations, too, walls are coming down, strengthening the position of a television culture common to all Europe (a phrase from the 1991 EYD-booklet)

Good to Know!

The Cypriot representative Eleni O'Keefe represented her country for second time in a row (she took part in 1989).

Although Canada and Austria withdrew from the Contest, they still broadcasted it.