6th Eurovision Young Dancers 1995

Location Switzerland
Host Broadcaster SSR SRG
Venue Théâtre de Beaulieu
Date 6 Jun 1995
Host(s) Géraldine Chaplin & Jean-Pierre Pastori
Participants 15
Voting method Jury voting
Jury President Heinz Spoerli
Interval Act "Moments in a garden of Spain": Flamenco show by Nina Corti and her musicians

Programme book


# Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer Result
01 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Franghiskos Toumbakaris “Ondine: variation acte II” J. Neumeier  
02 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Filip Barankiewicz “Paquita” M. Petipa  
03 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Anne-Catherine Haller “Raymonda” M. Petipa  
04 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Oliver Preiss “Taras Bulba: Gopak” R. Zakharov  
05 Russia
Flag of RussiaRTR
Masha Alexandrova “Coppélia: variation de Swanilda” M. Petipa  
06 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumBRTN
Jeroen Hofmans “Giselle: variation du paysan” M. Petipa, J. Coralli & J. Perrot 03
07 France
Flag of FranceFrance3
Karl Paquette “La Bayadère” R. Noureev  
08 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Nadja Sellrup “Grand pas classique” Gsovsky 02
09 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Jesús Pastor Sahuquillo & Ruth Miró Salvador “Arrayan Daraxa” V. Ullate 01
DNQ Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Carolina Constandinou “La Esmeralda” M. Petipa  
DNQ Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Damjan Mohorko “La Fille mal gardée: variation de Colas” M. Petipa & L. Ivanov  
DNQ Germany
Flag of GermanyZDF
Irina Schalht “La Esmeralda” M. Petipa  
DNQ Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Janna Eklund “La Esmeralda: variation de Diane” Vaganova  
DNQ Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Maria Mikalsen “Les mots sont allés” I. Bjornsgaard  
DNQ Hungary
Flag of HungaryMTV
Sàra Weisz “Death” T. Juronics  

About the show

The final of the sixth Eurovision Young Dancers Competition was held at theThéâtre de Beaulieu of Lausanne, Switzerland on June 6, 1995 at 20:30.

Three days before the final, on June 3 at 20:30, like in the previous years, a semi final was held to choose the 8 countries that made it to the final (Greece, Poland, Switzerland, Austria, Russia, Belgium, France and Spain).

Like in 1993, 15 countries took part in the 1995 Eurovision Young Dancers contest with some variations: Denmark and Estonia withdrew and two new countries participated: Hungary and Russia. However, 18 countries broadcasted the event: the 15 participant countries, Denmark, Bulgaria and Romania.

The participant countries could send one or two dancers, male or female, who performed one or two dances: either a 2 variations (individual) no longer than 5 minutes each or a "pas de deux" (couples) no longer than 10 minutes.

The jury consisted of:

  • Heinz Spoerli (Switzerland) (8 July 1940) as Head of Jury

  • Maurice Béjart (Lausanne) (1 January 1927 – 22 November 2007) as Honorary Guest of the Jury
  • Oscar Araiz (Geneva) (2 December 1940)
  • Gigi Caciuelanu (Rennes) (13 May 1947)
  • Paola Cantalupo (Italy)
  • Beatriz Consuelo (Geneva)
  • Peter Van Dyk (Bonn)
  • Pierre Lacotte (France) (4 April 1932)
  • Gilbert Mayer (Switzerland)
  • Víctor Ullate (Spain) (8 April 1940)
  • Jorma Uotinen (Finland) (28 June 1950)
  • Youri Vamos (Hungary)

Heinz Spoerli, this year's Head of Jury, was a member of the Eurovision Young Dancers jury since 1987.

The jury chose the finalists and top 3 performances.

Good to Know!

The worldwide famous actress Géraldine Chaplin, daughter of the actor Charles Chaplin, hosted the event together with the Swiss journalist Jean-Pierre Pastori.