10th Eurovision Young Dancers 2003

Location The Netherlands
Host Broadcaster NOS
Venue Stadsschouwburg Theatre
Date 4 Jul 2003
Host(s) Aldith Hunkar
Participants 10


Representing country Participant Dance Choreographer
Flag of FinlandYLE
Tiina Myllymäki "Paquita" Makarova & M. Petipa
Flag of RomaniaTVR
Ovidiu Matei Iancu "Swan Lake" M. Petipa
Czech Republic
Flag of Czech RepublicČT
Monika Hejduková & Viktor Konvalinka "The Twilight Of Innocence" Kodel & Vágnerová
Flag of LatviaLTV
Linda Silinja "La Primavera" I. Lapsina
Flag of GreeceERT
Elenina Nicolaou "Paquita" M. Petipa
Flag of EstoniaERR
Maria Seletskaja "Swan Lake" M. Petipa
Flag of SwedenSVT
Kristina Oom & Sebastian Michanek "Light Beings" M. Ek
Flag of UkraineNTU
Jerlin Ndudi "Le Corsaire" M. Petipa
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Sarah-Jane Brodbeck "Don Quixote" M. Petipa
The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Joeri Dubbe "Perfect Skin" E. Wubbe

About the show

The Final of the 10th Eurovision Young Dancers contest took part in Amsterdam (the Netherlands) on July 4th 2003.

Due to the high amount of interested countries (17) a semi final took place on the June 29th 2003 to choose the best 10 performances to the final. Seven countries did not make it to the final: Armenia, Belgium, Cyprus, Slovenia, Norway, Poland and United Kingdom.

All the participant countries could choose between classical ballet and contemporary style to participate in the competition and each country could send one or two dancers, mare or female, aged between 13 and 20.

The jury voted each dance giving points for technique and performance just at the end of the dance. Since both styles (classical and contemporary) competed together, there were 2 prizes, one or each discipline. There was a "paralel" jury as well formed by young people that gave their own points not based on the techique but just on the performance they saw live in the venue. This voting had no effect with the voting of the professional jury.

This is the jury of the 2003 Eurovision Young Dancers competition:

- Vladimir Vasiliev (Russia) (1940)

- Susanne Linke (Germany) (June 19, 1944)

- Paola Cantalupo (Italy)

- Derrick Brown (The Netherlands)

- Liz Imperio (USA)

The prize for classical ballet was given to Ukraine, the one for contemporary dance was given to Sweden and the young jury award was given to the Czech Republic